Salman Rushdie: Luka and the Fire of Life

THU, NOV 18, 2010 (1:12:11)

One of the great storytellers of our time, Salman Rushdie, talks about his new book, Luka and the Fire of Life. This novel is a follow up to his modern classic, Haroun and the Sea of Stories. The new novel centers on Luka, Haroun’s younger brother, who must save his father from certain doom.

+ BIO: Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie is the author of ten novels: Grimus, Midnight’s Children (which was awarded the Booker Prize in 1981), Shame, The Satanic Verses, Haroun and the Sea of Stories, The Moor’s Last Sigh, The Ground Beneath Her Feet, Fury, Shalimar the Clown and The Enchantress of Florence. He is also the author of a book of stories, East, West, and three works of non-fiction - Imaginary Homelands, The Jaguar Smile, and Step Across This Line. He is the co-editor of Mirrorwork, an anthology of contemporary Indian writing, and of the 2008 Best American Short Stories anthology.

Jimmy Carter Library and Museum
Talks for Book Lovers