Homeland: Emotional Aftermath

WED, OCT 13, 2004 (54:53)

Reporting from middle America in the tradition of James Agee and Walker Percy, the Pulitzer Prize-winning team of author Dale Maharidge and photographer Michael Williamson discuss Homeland, a troubling and revealing narrative of the impact of 9/11 on our nation. Logging thousands of miles across America, the team uncovered the emotions of a deeply divided people seeking security in a world turned upside down.

+ BIO: Dale Maharidge

Dale Maharidge has been teaching at the journalism school since 2001; he first taught here in the early 1990s. He was a visiting professor at Stanford University for 10 years and before that he spent 15 years as a newspaperman, writing for the Cleveland Plain Dealer, The Sacramento Bee, and others. He's written for Rolling Stone, George Magazine, The Nation, Mother Jones, The New York Times op-ed page, among others. Most of his books are illustrated with the work of photographer Michael Williamson.

Maharidge's first book, Journey to Nowhere: The Saga of the New Underclass (1985), later inspired Bruce Springsteen to write two songs; it was reissued in 1996 with an introduction by Springsteen. His second book, And Their Children After Them (1989), won the Pulitzer Prize for nonfiction in 1990. Other books include Yosemite: A Landscape of Life (1990); The Last Great American Hobo (1993); and The Coming White Minority: California, Multiculturalism & the Nation's Future (1996, 1999); Homeland (2004); and Denison, Iowa: Searching for the Soul of America Through the Secrets of a Midwest Town (2005).

Maharidge attended Cleveland State University. He was a 1988 Nieman Fellow at Harvard University. In 2004, Maharidge held a Yaddo artist's residency.

Partner
Cambridge Forum
Series
Human Rights Series
In the Balance: BioAttack & City Under Siege Series
NOVA: Building on Ground Zero Series